mirror, mirror on the wall, where oh where has Indo Liv gone?

Perhaps the thing I miss the most of Indonesia is the person I am while there. I miss me.

In my mind there is an Indonesian Liv and an American Liv, and no matter how hard I try, the two refuse to merge into one Liv.

Indonesian Liv is confident, strong, intelligent, motivated, charismatic, accepted and happy.

American Liv is…well, many things, but none of the above.

I became aware of Indo Liv and American Liv Fall 2014, after I returned from my first summer in Indonesia. I came back from that summer knowing my worth. Knowing that I was WORTHY of so much more. As my friend, Wes, told me, I blossomed. I grew into myself. I figured out who I was. I was challenged by a new environment, culture and people, travelling for the first time in my life (over 10,000 miles one way! hot damn!) without the comforts and protection of home. In Malang I am surrounded by amazingly awesome people who genuinely love, care, support, and encourage me. People who make me not only know I am so much more than I believe I am, but make me WANT to be better.

Throughout both of my summers in Indonesia, I discovered a me I never knew. A Liv that was happy. That doesn’t mean life was perfect. Life didn’t stop. Life didnt get any easier. I still struggled with my depression and anxiety, my insecurities, my fears, life continuing on in America and the troubles that came with it, but my happiness was greater than any of those. For the first time in my life I was truly happy. This happiness emerged alongside my confidence, strength, and courage to step out of my very small comfort zone. I mean, I asked Mas Rizal and Ibu Peni if they wanted to perform a song together at the 4th of July party. We practiced. We did it, in front of a lot of people, too. That is something American Liv would never be courageous enough to do.

Although life never stopped bitch slapping me in the face, every morning I woke up happy. As soon as my eyes opened and I remembered yes, it wasn’t a dream, I was living in Indonesia, a huge smile spread across my face. My heart warmed with happiness, often wanting to explode because it was full of love, full of life. A desire to live, truly live, and a motivation for life and school emerged within me. From that desire and motivation came a true and more consistent happiness. Ive experienced happiness in America, with my parents and sisters, with friends, but never a happiness so pure and consistent that I woke up on the daily happy and excited for life. I still wanted to do hood rat shit with my friends, but I had a desire to do more than that, to be more than that. That was a new feeling for me, or at least a feeling I hadn’t experienced since ‘nam.  For the first time in my life I believed in myself. I struggled with maintaining that belief, but it existed.

I’ve been told by numerous family members and friends in America how I radiate in my photos from Indonesia. There is a difference in my smile; it’s brighter and bigger. It exudes confidence. This confidence and happiness emerged once I was accepted. My CLS people accepted me. The real me. I do not fit the gender binaries that exist in Indonesia; I challenge them. Although I challenge the gender binary of what a woman is in Indonesia, my friends love and accept me for who I am. For the first time in my life I felt that I could be completely 100% me and I was accepted. I might be known as the most nakal or rebellious/naughty, but I was loved.  Hiding or submerging parts of me is unnecessary. I tripped my own light fantastic (did I use your old school saying accordingly, ma?) and did me. For once in my life I celebrated who I was, rather than hating who I am.

This motivated, loving life, happy, confident Liv doesn’t exist in America.  As I wrote in a previous post, this past fall after returning from my second summer in Malang, Indonesia has been a very difficult and depressive period for me. What has been difficult is maintaining that happiness and motivation. I became so accustomed and welcoming to being surrounded by a community centered society rather than an individualistic society, that it became difficult to remind myself to be my own cheerleader, my own team of encouragement.  With every day that passes since my return from Indonesia, so does my motivation, happiness, and confidence; the Indo Liv disintegrates.

Sampai jumpa dan hati2!

_____________________________________________________

Mungkin hal yg aku paling rindu dari Indonesia adalah orang aku sementara di sana. Aku rindu aku.

Dalam pikiranku ada Indonesia Liv dan Amerika Liv, dan meskipun aku sering coba, dua-duanya menolak menjadi satu.

Indonesia Liv adalah percaya diri, kuat, cerdas, termotivasi, karismatik, diterima, dan bahagia.

Amerika Liv adalah…beberapa hal, tapi bukan kata sifat yg tersebut di atas.

Aku baru sadar tentang Indo Liv dan Amerika Liv pada Musim Guggur 2014, setelah Musim Panas pertamaku di Indonesia. Saat kembali ke Amerika, aku baru tahu nilai diri. Baru tahu nilai diriku boleh jadi lebih tinggi. Sebagai temanku, mas Wes, bilang kepada aku, aku  berbunga-bunga (blossomed?). Aku menjadi diri sendiri. Indonesia menantang aku dgn lingkungan, budaya, dan orang baru, dan perjalanan pertama dalam hidupku tanpa kenyamanan dan perlindungan dari rumahku. Di Malang, aku dikelilingi oleh orang yg hebat dan a we so me yg benar2 cinta, peduli, dukung, dan mendorong aku. Orang yg membuat aku nggak hanya tahu nilaiku lebih tinggi daripada aku berpikir, tapi membuat aku INGIN menjadi lebih baik.

Selama Musim Panas berduaku di Indonesia, aku menemukan aku baru yg aku belum tahu. Liv yg bahagia. Itu nggak artinya bahwa hidupku sempurna. Hidup nggak berhenti. Hidup belum menjadi lebih mudah. Aku masih berjuang dgn depresi dan kecemasanku, ketidakamananku, ketakutanku, hidup melanjutakan di Amerika dan masalah yg datang dari itu, tapi kebahagiaanku lebih besar. Kali pertama dalam hidupku yg aku bahagia benar2. Kebahagiaanku muncul dgn keyakinan, kekuatan, dan keberanian untuk melangkah keluar dari zona kenyamananku yg sangat kecil. Contoh, Musim Panas 2015, aku tanya Mas Rizal dan Ibu Peni jika mereka mau menyanyi dan bermain satu lagu bersama untuk pesta 4th Juli. Kami berlatih. Kami melakukan itu, di depan banyak orang, juga. Ini adalah satu hal yg Amerika Liv nggak pernah akan atau bisa melakukan.

Meskipun hidupku belum pernah berhenti bitch slapping wajahmu, setiap pagi aku merasa bahagia sekali ketika baru bangun. Ketika mataku berbuka dan aku ingat  bahwa, ya, aku nggak mimpi, aku benar dgn tinggal di Indonesia, aku bersenyum terbesar. Hatiku dihangatkan dgn kebahagiaan, sering mau meletus karena itu terlalu penuh dgn cinta, penuh dgn kehidupan. Keinginan untuk hidup, hidup benar2, dan motivasi untuk hidup dan sekolah muncul dalam aku. Dari keinginan dan motivasi datang kebahagiaan yg betul dan lebih konsisten. Aku sudah merasa bahagia di Amerika, dgn orangtuaku, kakak perempuanku, dan teman2ku, tapi belum pernah kebahagiaan yg sangat murni dan konsisten bahwa aku bangun setiap hari senang untuk hidup. Aku masih mau melakukan hood rat shit dgn teman2ku, tapi aku ada keinginan untuk lebih banyak daripada itu saja, untuk menjadi lebih baik. Ini adalah perasaan baru untukku, atau perasaan yg aku pernah ada sejak nam. Untuk kali pertama dalam hidupku, aku percaya diri sendiri. Aku masih berjuang dengan mempertahankan kepercayaan, tapi masih ada.

Aku telah diberitahu oleh keluargaku dan teman2ku banyak di Amerika bagaimana aku berseri di foto2ku dari Indonesia. Ada perbedaan dalam senyumku; itu cerah dan lebih besar daripada senyumku dalam foto2ku di Amerika. Ini memancarkan kepercayaan diri. Keyakinan dan kebahagiaan ini muncul setelah saya diterima. Orangku CLS menerima aku. Aku yg asli. Aku tidak cocok binari gender yg ada di Indonesia; aku menantang mereka. Meskipun aku menantang biner jenis kelamin apa yg seorang wanita di Indonesia, teman2ku mencintai dan menerima aku untuk siapa aku. Untuk kali pertama dalam hidupku aku merasa bahwa aku bisa benar-benar 100% aku dan aku diterima. Kebahagiaan dan keyakinanku muncul ketika orang lain menerima aku. Mungkin orang lain tahu aku sebagai orang yg paling nakal, tapi mereka masih cinta aku. Aku tidak perlu menyembunyikan atau merendam bagian dariku. Kali pertama dalam hidupku aku merayakan aku, daripada membenci aku.

Liv yg ada motivasi, cinta hidup, bahagia, dan yakin nggak tinggal di Amerika. Aku sudah menulis dalam blog lain, Musim Guggur ini setelah kembali dari musim panas keduaku di Malang Indonesia adalah waktu yg sulit dan membuat aku sedih. Apa yg sulit adalah mempertahankan bahwa kebahagiaan dan motivasi. Aku menjadi begitu terbiasa dan menyambut dikelilingi oleh sebuah komunitas yang berpusat masyarakat daripada masyarakat individualistis, itu menjadi sulit untuk mengingatkan diri untuk menjadi cheerleaderku sendiri, timku sendiri dorongan. Dgn setiap hari yang berlalu sejak saya kembali dari Indonesia, begitu pula motivasiku, kebahagiaan, dan keyakinan; Indo Liv hancur.

 

Sampai jumpa dan hati2!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Rossalia says:

    Mbak liv, semangat…
    jangan hancur Indo Liv.
    Tetap berbunga di Amerika 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sebuah misteri says:

    he is looked handsome…who is he? hahaha
    apa artinya hood rat shit?

    Like

Leave a comment