#slothlyfe

“Akhirnya!!” or “Finally!!” I cried in my head as I walked along the stage, void of all my senses, unsure exactly what was happening, but all so certain at the same time. So I’ve graduated. I repeat, I’ve graduated. To be honest, that wasn’t something I was so certain would happen.

Six years. Six long years. Six years full of endless allnighters at the lib. Six years of endless papers. Six years of endless reading. Six years of endless learning. Six years full of love, laughter, but often most predominate, pain. As I begin this transition, processing my new achievement and future, I look back at my accomplishments and the most influential aspect of my life, Indonesia.

To say graduating was easy, would be to lie.

I’ve struggled. Oh, man, it’s been real, the struggle. But, I succeeded, I survived. These six years were difficult and painful, but this final semester perhaps the more difficult. This past semester I was diagnosed with Anxiety, Depression, PTSD with Psychosis and a couple other things. Man. That’s difficult to admit out loud. Psychosis. It doesn’t really role off your tongue so well, now does it. Instead, it sits there, on your tongue, bitter and tart. Especially when you first hear it. When you don’t really know what it is. Oh, man, your imagination can run wild with it!

It’s something I’ve struggled with for some time. I’ve struggled with telling people, of knowing if it’s okay to tell people, if I’ll be okay after telling people. I’ve struggled with the fear and anxiety of telling people, specifically terrified of their response or future treatment of me. Even now, just typing this leads my paranoia into a downward spiral, fearful of how you all may view me or think of me after reading this and becoming knowledgeable of it. I’ve struggled with my diagnosis, my disease, and the shame and negative connotations associated with mental health illness. I struggle with maintaining a clarity and distinct difference  between societal perception of mental health, and my actual, factual, experienced working knowledge of mental health, of my mental health. Often falling sway to societal norm and perception, I struggle with maintaining the viewpoint and knowledge that I’m not crazy. Im not crazy. Im not crazy. Now, thankfully to my wonderfully, magnificent, fabulous doctor, I’ve become a little more sure that I’m not crazy. Following episodes of paranoia or auditory or visual hallucinations I remind myself of what my doctor told me, “Hey, people have health issues in life. Some people get diabetes. You, have psychological, mental health issues. Both are health issues, both happen, both kinda suck, you just happen to have a disease that is yet to be fully understood by our brains, and therefore is more frightening to humans. You’re not crazy. I’m here to reassure you of it.”  So, if the magical Dr. Balbo says Im not crazy, Imma believe the magical unicorn that rides on a rainbow and shoots glitter out every where she goes.

In my daily struggle with my disease I am thankful for my wonderful team of doctors that helped during my time at OU. They have helped me through many a difficult, heart-breaking situations.  They’ve helped me begin my journey to understand me & my mental health. They don’t only see my disease, they see me…the real me. They’ve seen every side of me–depressed, suicidal, paranoid, happy, in love, ecstatic, confident–and  accept that I am not my disease; I am more than my disease. They reassure me that I’m not crazy, that my psychosis is not schizophrenia. Yes, I experience episodes of paranoia and visual & audio hallucinations, however, my meds help keep that in check, keep me present.

In my daily struggle with my disease, I cling to Indonesia. It keeps me sane. It keeps me, me.

That’s why Indonesia is so important to me. It. Saved. Me. It’s whats kept me going. Whats ignited my fire, so to say.  But my disease fights against it, struggling to extinguish the light of Indonesia inside me, my light. Doubting every choice, every decision, every accomplishment, telling me “it’s nothing. you’re nothing.” But there my light stayed. I’ve clung to that light. Clung hard, like a sloth. #slothlyfe

I’ve never been so thankful for something. I can’t explain the fire, the passion, the wonder, amazement, confusion, love, adoration, contention, respect, and pride that is ignited within me when I think of Indonesia. I can’t explain it.  But IT’S. AMAZING.  Seriously, though, it fills my heart with such joy, such happiness, such… purpose. My heart beams! “Mau meletus dgn cintaaaa!!” “Wanting to explode with loveeee!!”  Even when things have been at the most difficult in Indonesia, my disease was manageable. More manageable than it seems to be in the US. Perhaps this is attributed to the more consistent and pure happiness I encounter in Indonesia.

Perhaps it’s because I have yet to be so deeply, terribly hurt in Indonesia. Have yet to be destroyed and completely dehumanized. Everything is new there. Everything is fresh. Untainted, unsullied…unlike me. Full of love and acceptance. I have yet to be met with anything else except acceptance in Indonesia. Maybe some wonder, confusion, and general “the fuck?” like thinking, but acceptance. I have nothing but happy memories and thoughts associated with Indonesia. It’s purity has been my savior.

In a daily battle and struggle to maintain normality, Indonesia is what keeps me deeply rooted.  Indonesia motivates me, making me feel courageous, intelligent, loved, capable, worthy, confident, even when my disease tells me differently.  Indonesia and the feelings it evokes from me combat my disease, daily.  Constantly being told by a voice that I am none of the aforementioned; in fact, the exact opposite. That is why Indonesia is so important to me. That is why my only goal is to make it back. To go back to the homeland. To go back to the place that holds my heart hostage.

Pulang saja. Go home, only.

_________________________________________________________________

“Akhirnya !!” Aku berseru dalam kepalaku saat aku berjalan di sepanjang panggung, kosong dari semua inderaku, tidak yakin apa yang sedang terjadi, tapi semua begitu yakin pada waktu yang sama. Jadi aku sudah lulus. Aku ulangi, aku sudah lulus. Jujur, itu bukan sesuatu yang aku sangat yakin akan terjadi.

Enam tahun. Enam tahun yang panjang. Enam tahun penuh allnighters tak berujung di perpustakaan. Enam tahun kertas tak berujung. Enam tahun membaca tak berujung. Enam tahun belajar tanpa henti. Enam tahun penuh cinta, tawa, tetapi sering paling mendominasi, nyeri. Seperti yg aku mulai transisi ini, pengolahan prestasi baruku dan masa depan, aku melihat kembali prestasi dan aspek yg paling berpengaruh dalam hidupku, Indonesia.

Untuk mengatakan lulus mudah, akan berbohong.

Aku sudah berjuang. Oh, man, sudah nyata, perjuangan. Tapi, saya berhasil, saya selamat. Ini enam tahun yang sulit, saya telah menghadapi banyak kendala, tapi masa lalu ini, semester akhir mungkin lebih sulit. Ini melewati semester saya didiagnosa Mayor Depresi dan PTSD dengan Psikosis. Manusia. Itu sulit untuk mengakui keras. Psikosis. Ini tidak benar-benar peran dari lidah Anda dengan baik, sekarang bukan. Sebaliknya, itu duduk di sana, di lidah Anda, pahit dan asam. Terutama ketika Anda pertama kali mendengarnya. Bila Anda tidak benar-benar tahu apa itu. Oh, man, imajinasi Anda dapat menjalankan liar dgn itu!

Ini sesuatu yang saya sudah berjuang dengan untuk beberapa waktu. Aku sudah berjuang dengan memberitahu orang-orang, untuk mengetahui apakah tidak apa-apa untuk memberitahu orang, apakah aku akan baik-baik saja setelah memberitahu orang-orang. Aku sudah berjuang dengan diagnosis saya, penyakit saya, dan rasa malu dan konotasi negatif yang terkait dengan penyakit kesehatan mental. Aku berjuang dengan mempertahankan kejelasan antara persepsi masyarakat tentang kesehatan mental, dan saya aktual, faktual, mengalami pengetahuan tentang kesehatan mental, kesehatan mentalku. Aku berjuang dengan mempertahankan sudut pandang dan pengetahuan bahwa aku tidak gila. Aku tidak gila. Aku tidak gila. Sekarang, untungnya ke dokterku sangat megah luar biasa, aku lebih yakin bahwa aku tidak gila.  Dokterku berkata, “Hei, orang memiliki masalah kesehatan dalam hidup. Beberapa orang diabetes. Anda, memiliki psikologis, masalah kesehatan mental. Keduanya masalah kesehatan, baik terjadi, baik agak menghisap, Anda hanya kebetulan memiliki penyakit yang belum sepenuhnya dipahami oleh otak kita, dan karena itu lebih menakutkan untuk manusia. Anda tidak gila. Saya di sini untuk meyakinkan Anda itu. ” Jadi, jika magis Dr. Balbo mengatakan aku tidak gila, akan aku percaya pelangi unicorn magis yang tunas gemerlapnya setiap mana dia pergi.

Dalam perjuangan sehari-hariku dgn penyakit aku sangat berterima kasih atas dokter2ku yg membantu aku selama waktuku di OU. Mereka telah membantu aku melalui banyak situasi yg sulit dan hati melanggar.  Merekea telah membantu aku mulai perjalananku untuk memahami aku dan kesehatan mentalku. Mereka nggak melihat penyakitku saja, mereka melihat aku…aku yg asli. Mereka telah melihat setiap sisiku – depresi, bunuh diri, paranoid, senang, cinta, gembira, percaya diri – dan menerima bahwa aku tidak penyakitku; aku lebih dari penyakitku. Mereka meyakinkan aku bahwa aku tidak gila, bahwa psikosisku tidak skizofrenia. Ya, aku mengalami episode paranoia dan halusinasi visual & audio, namun, obat-obatan aku membantu menjaga yg di cek, menjaga aku menyajikan.

Dalam perjuangan sehari-hariku dengan penyakitku, aku berpegang teguh pada Indonesia. Ini membuat aku waras. Itu membuat aku,aku.

Itu kenapa Indonesia begitu penting bagiku. Itu menyelamatkan aku. Indonesia membuat aku terus dgn hidup. Itu apa yg tersulut api, jadi untuk mengatakan. Tapi penyakitku berjuang melawan itu, berjuang untuk memadamkan cahaya Indonesia dalam diriku, cahayaku. Meragukan setiap pilihan, setiap keputusan, setiap prestasi, mengatakan “bukan apa-apa. kamu nggak apa-apa.” Tapi ada cahaya saya tinggal. Aku sudah menempel cahaya itu. Menempel keras, seperti kemalasan. #slothlyfe

Aku belum pernah begitu bersyukur untuk sesuatu. Saya tidak bisa menjelaskan api, gairah, keajaiban, keheranan, kebingungan, cinta, adorasi, pertengkaran, rasa hormat, dan kebanggaan yg dinyalakan dalam diri aku ketika aku memikirkan Indonesia. ku nggak bisa menjelaskannya. Tapi ITU. A WE SO ME. Serius, meskipun, ini mengisi hati aku dgn sukacita, kebahagiaan tersebut, seperti … tujuan. Hatiku balok! “Mau meletus dgn cintaaaa !!”  Bahkan ketika hal-hal yang berada di sana paling sulit di Indonesia, penyakitku dikelola. Lebih mudah ditangani daripada tampaknya di AS. Mungkin ini dikaitkan dengan kebahagiaan lebih konsisten dan murni saya temui di Indonesia.

Mungkin itu karena aku belum pernah begitu mendalam, sangat sakit di Indonesia. Belum dihancurkan dan benar-benar tidak manusiawi. Semuanya baru di sana. Semuanya segar. Murni, tak bercacat … tak seperti aku. Penuh cinta dan penerimaan. Aku belum akan bertemu dengan apa pun kecuali penerimaan di Indonesia. Mungkin beberapa heran, kebingungan, dan umum “the fuck?” pikiran, tapi penerimaan. Aku tidak ada tapi kenangan indah dan pengalaman terkait dgn Indonesia. Kemurnian itu telah penyelamat aku.

Dalam pertempuran sehari-hari dan perjuangan untuk mempertahankan normalitas, Indonesia adalah apa yg membuat aku berakar. Indonesia memotivasi aku, membuat aku merasa berani, cerdas, mencintai, mampu, layak, percaya diri, bahkan ketika penyakit aku memberitahu saya berbeda. Indonesia dan perasaan itu membangkitkan dari aku memerangi penyakit aku, setiap hari. Terus-menerus diberitahu oleh suara yg aku tidak ada tersebut; pada kenyataannya, justru sebaliknya. Itulah sebabnya Indonesia sangat penting bagi aku. Itulah mengapa hanya tujuanku adalah untuk kembali ke Indonesia. Untuk kembali ke tanah airku. Untuk kembali ke tempat yang memegang sandera hatiku.

Pulang saja, ya.

Leave a comment